top of page

Disability and diversity in Speech and Language Therapy

Written by Keira Radice-Skinner



My name is Keira Radice-Skinner and I am in my first year of the master's programme here at BCU!

I also live with a connective tissue disorder called Loeys-Dietz Syndrome. In layman’s terms, the glue that holds you together does not work in my body. This has required me to have two open-heart surgeries. I've also had multiple spinal operations and it has left me with a C5 spinal cord injury. This creates multiple challenges in daily living, sometimes requiring me to be in a wheelchair, dealing with frequent dislocations and becoming fatigued very quickly.

In 2014, whilst in my first year of medical school in New Zealand, I had an aortic dissection which required emergency surgery, and I had to forfeit my studies. During recovery, I decided to study towards a Bachelor of Health Sciences and found a passion to help people through my personal experience with rehabilitation. During this time, my passion for Speech and Language therapy arose (I'm not going to lie, I didn't even know we existed before then) and I set a personal goal of one day returning to study so I could join the profession. 

I spent the next few years focusing on becoming physically and mentally well, graduating with my degree in 2014, moving across the world, and volunteering and working with children who have complex needs. This reminded me of my passion for SALT so I began applying for master’s courses across the UK. 

During my interviews, I was shocked that my disability became a focus point; I'd researched the profession well, and although I found it hard to find SALTs currently working with a disability, I decided that the values of the NHS, plus the range of workload available would suit me and my passions, regardless of my disability. One university questioned whether I'd be able to "cope" with my disability and a master's course, and another asked why I was "assuming that placements would be accessible."


When I came to my BCU interview it was a positive experience, and I had the opportunity to meet some service users, who once again reignited my passion for the profession and reminded me that my disability should not get in the way. I personally think, people with chronic conditions have an extra bout of empathy and understanding, which is a core skill required for SALT. 

I was delighted to be accepted onto the course beginning Jan 2020, and I am absolutely loving the experience so far. To anybody thinking about joining the profession who has a chronic condition, I would say go for it. Yes, it is harder some days, but with the scope of work that SALTs do, it is easier to find a job that will accommodate to your needs. The university disability services, personal tutors and course co-ordinators have all been fabulous with helping me achieve my best with some of the extra challenges I face- and I know they'd do the same for anyone else.

It is an exciting time to be joining the profession, and we even are starting a RCSLT focus group for people with disabilities! It is a fantastic privilege to be part of a profession that is continuing to increase diversity. After all, this is the one thing we all have in common, and our inclusivity as a profession will create a positive impact for all.


If you would like to message Keira with any questions, either leave them in the comments below or email saltsoc@teambcu.co.uk and we will put you in contact with her.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page